Douglas Mwonzora Releases List of MDC T Candidates for By Elections 

The President of MDC T, Douglas Mwonzora has finally released a list of his candidates for by-elections.


Mwonzora released the list days after President Emmerson Mnangagwa proclaimed March 26 as the date for by-elections through Statutory Instrument 2 of 2022, setting the stage for parties to contest for about 133 vacancies in Parliament and local authorities.



Meanwhile, the nomination court will sit on January 26 to register candidates, according to the proclamation dated December 24, 2021, but only published yesterday.


The proclamation immediately jolted MDC-T leader Douglas Mwonzora into panic mode, who visited Mnangagwa at State House last week, reportedly to discuss the issue of elections in a closed-door meeting.



Mwonzora’s party caused the 133 vacancies after it recalled MDC Alliance representatives in Parliament and local authorities.



Some of the vacancies were caused by deaths.

Four other MPs from the opposition MDC Alliance led by Nelson Chamisa were recalled by the People’s Democratic Party led by Lucia Matibenga.



Below is the Full List of MDC T candidates