President Emmerson Mnangagwa on Wednesday reshuffled his cabinet, eight months after he appointed a new cabinet following his re-election in August last year.

Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Martin Rushwaya announced the cabinet reshuffle in a statement.

The re-assignments and appointments took effect immediately.

Mnangagwa re-appointed Winston Chitando as mines of minister, a post he held before last year’s elections.

Daniel Garwe replaced Chitando as Ministry of Local Government and Public Works.

Zhemu Soda, former mines and mining development minister, is now the new minister for National Housing and Social Amenities.

Mnangagwa also appointed Musa Ncube as deputy minister of National Housing and Social Amenities and Headman Moyo as deputy minister of Veterans of the Liberation Struggle Affairs.

Yeukai Simbanegavi was appointed deputy minister of Energy and Power Development.