President Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa is swearing in Commissioners of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission at Statehouse.

The Commissioners were nominated by Parliament in terms of section 237 and 238 of the constitution and candidate names were then forwarded to His Excellency the President for appointment.

The new Commissioners are: Catherine Mpofu, Abigail Millicent Mohadi Ambrose, Jane Mbetu Nzvenga, Kudzai Shava, Rosewita Murutare and Shepard Manhivi.

Former deputy president Kembo Mohadi’s daughter Abigail Millicent Ambrose was sworn in as ZEC commissioner

Miicent is from Mohadi’s previous marriage with Tambudzani. The new appointment has raised serious questions on the electoral body’s impartiality.