Former Barcelona forward, Lionel Messi has been crowned the winner of the Ballorn Dor.

Lionel Messi collected  his seventh Ballon d’Or award at a glittering 2021 ceremony in Paris this evening.

Messi was crowned after winning the Copa America with Argentina earlier this year, despite one of his less impressive years at club level: Barcelona finished third in La Liga and fell in the first knockout round of the Champions League.

However, Messi scored two goals as Barca won the Copa del Rey final and he was La Liga’s top goalscorer once more, before switching to Paris Saint-Germain in the summer.


Robert Lewandowski was widely expected to win last year’s award before it was cancelled due to the pandemic, and the Bayern Munich striker was in the running once again.


Robert Lewandowski finished second with Jorginho 3rd, Karim Benzema 4th and Ngolo Kante 5th.


Chelsea’s Jorginho was another candidate, having won the Champions League with his club and Euro 2020 with his country Italy a couple of months later.