Breaking: Zimbabwe, Zambia and South Africa Removed From Red List by UK

The United Kingdom has removed atleast 47 countries from its red list.

Among the removed countries is Zimbabwe, South Africa and Zambia.

Announcing the latest changes, Mr Shapps said the government was “making it easier for families and loved ones to reunite”.

He said that with fewer restrictions “and more people travelling, we can all continue to move safely forward together along our pathway to recovery”.

In addition to the shorter red list, the government said passengers would soon be able to use a photograph of a lateral flow test as a minimum requirement to verify a negative result.

This change – affecting tests taken by fully-vaccinated people from non-red list countries two days after arrival in England – would come into effect in “late October”, the Department for Transport said.

The following destinations will be removed from the red list from 04:00 BST on Monday:

Afghanistan, Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Congo (Democratic Republic), Costa Rica, Cuba. Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Georgia, Guyana, Indonesia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mayotte, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Paraguay, Philippines, RĂ©union, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Suriname, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, Uruguay, Zambia and Zimbabwe