Kenya’s Interior Cabinet Secretary Dr. Fred Matiang’i has extended the ongoing curfew in the country until May 29.

In a notice released on Wednesday, the government said a “special infected zones” 8 pm -4 am curfew for Nairobi and four nearby counties will remain in effect. The curfew for the rest of the country is 10 pm to 4 am.

In March, President Kenyatta announced a cessation of all movement into and out of five counties: Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu, Nakuru, said to be disease-infected areas.

President Kenyatta in his directives on March 26 did not give a timeline for the curfews only noting that the restrictions will stay in place “until otherwise notified.”

Kenya has been under some form of a curfew since March 2020.