The United Kingdom has says it will extend a ban on travellers entering England to southern African countries in a measure to prevent the spread of new Covid-19 variant identified in South Africa.

The countries include Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Eswatini, Zambia, Malawi, Lesotho, Mozambique and Angola.

The restriction will take effect on sartuday and remain in place for two weeks, said the government in a statement.

“Entry into England will be banned to those who have travelled from or through any souther african country in the last 10 days,” said the country’s department for transport.

The UK had previously said it had temporarily banned entry of passengers to England arriving from South Africa from December 24.

Britain has been among the countries worst-hit by Covid-19, and its economy suffered.