A full Mutare city councilĀ  meeting recently made a resolution to rename 2nd street after the former Prime minister Morgan Tsvangirai.

Tsvangirai came from Manicaland, in Buhera.

This comes after the council indulged in a debate concerning the renaming of roads in Mutare following submissions by Local government Minister, July Moyo, that five roads be renamed after late ZANU PF politicians while one other would be named after President Emerson Mnangagwa.

Council approved that Jeff Peacock road be named after the Mnangagwa, Jeff road will be renamed as Edgar Tekere, first street will be called Morris Nyagumbo, with second street renamed after Morgan Tsvangirai and Aerodrome road renamed Movern Mahachi.

Tsvangirai was the founding leader of the Movement for Democratic Change in 1999.

Mutare Mayor Blessing Tandi said council had already made an undertaking to have 2nd street named after Tsvangirai with submissions made to the ministry for approval but no approval has been made as of yet.